COUNCIL

Wednesday 23 May 2012

COUNCILLORS PRESENT: Councillors Armitage (Lord Mayor), Abbasi (Deputy Lord Mayor), Sinclair (Sheriff), Benjamin, Fooks, Altaf-Khan, Bance, Baxter, Brett, Campbell, Canning, Clack, Clarkson, Cook, Coulter, Curran, Darke, Fry, Goddard, Gotch, Haines, Hollick, Humberstone, Jones, Kennedy, Khan, Lloyd-Shogbesan, Lygo, Malik, McCready, McManners, Mills, O'Hara, Pressel, Price, Rowley, Royce, Rundle, Sanders, Seamons, Simmons, Smith, Tanner, Turner, Van Nooijen and Williams.

1. **ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2012/13**

Councillor John Goddard proposed and Councillor Ben Lloyd-Shogbesan seconded, that there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Alan Armitage be elected as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2012/12.

Councillor Armitage took the Chair from Councillor Benjamin and then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2012/13

Councillor Bob Price proposed and Councillor David Williams seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Mohammed Niaz Abbasi be elected Deputy Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2012/13.

Councillor Abbasi then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office

3. **APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2012/13**

Councillor Laurence Baxter proposed and Councillor Craig Simmons seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved to appoint Councillor Dee Sinclair Sheriff of Oxford and Conservator of Port Meadow and City Fisheries for the Council Year 2012/13.

VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR 4.

Councillor David Williams proposed and Councillor Jim Campbell seconded a vote of thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor, Councillor Elise Benjamin, for her services as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2011/12.

5. **VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING SHERIFF**

Councillor Craig Simmons proposed and Councillor Oscar Van Nooijen seconded a vote of thanks to the outgoing Sheriff, Councillor Jean Fooks, for her services as Sheriff of Oxford for the Council Year 2011/12.

6. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Ruth Wilkinson and Dick Wolff.

7. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR

The Lord Mayor congratulated the newly elected Members of Council and welcomed back those Members who had retained their seats in the recent local elections.

He announced that his chosen charities his Mayoral Year would be Arts at the Old Fire Station and Asylum Welfare.

8. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chief Executive formally presented the results (previously circulated, now appended) of the local elections held on 3rd May 2012.

9. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Ed Turner proposed and Councillor Sajjid Malik seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Price be elected Leader of the Council for the Council Years 2012-2016.

10. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2012/13 AND OTHER MATTERS

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report (previously circulated, now appended) which invited Council to appoint Committees for the Council Year 2012/13 and members to serve upon those Committees.

Council resolved:

- (a) To appoint a Licensing Committee to discharge the responsibilities contained in the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005, with powers and duties as set out in paragraphs 5.4 and 5.5 of the Constitution, and with a membership as set out in the appendix to these minutes;
- (b) To appoint an East Area Planning Committee, a West Area Planning Committee, a Planning Review Committee, an Audit and Governance Committee, a General Purposes Licensing Committee, an Appointments Committee and a Disciplinary Committee for the Chief Executive, Directors and Heads of Service, with powers and duties as set out in Sections 5 and 7 of the Constitution and memberships as set in the appendix to these minutes;

- (c) To appoint a politically balanced Standards Committee with powers and duties as set out in the report, to come into being when the law is changed with regard to the Standards regime, and with a membership as set out in the appendix to these minutes;
- (d) that until the law is changed (expected to be on 1st July 2012) to appoint a Standards Committee with the composition and membership as set out in Appendix 2 to the report and with powers and duties as set out in Section 7 of the Councils Constitution;
- (e) To appoint a Communities and Partnership Scrutiny Committee and a Value and Performance Scrutiny Committee with powers and duties as set out in Section 8 of the Constitution, and with memberships as set out in the appendix to these minutes;
- (f) That all members of Council should constitute the pool of members from which an observer representative would be invited to observe at Appeals Panels into disciplinary sanctions or grievance decisions;
- (g) To appoint Councillor Susanna Pressel to the Oxfordshire Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- (h) That responsibility for recommending all licensing bodies policies to full Council, becomes that of the City Executive Board;
- (i) To authorise the Head of Law and Governance making any changes to the Constitution in consequence of Council's decisions on committee appointments and powers and duties.

11. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Bob Price, Leader of the Council informed Council of the Board Members for 2012/13 along with their portfolios:

Councillor Bob Price (Leader)

Councillor Ed Tuner (Deputy Leader)

Councillor Colin Cook - City Development

Councillor Van Coulter – Leisure Services

Councillor Stephen Curran – Young People, Education and Community Development

Councillor Mark Lygo – Parks and Sports

Councillor Scott Seamons - Housing

Councillor Dee Sinclair – Crime and Community Safety

Councillor Val Smith – Customer Services and Regeneration

12. COUNCIL SCHEME OF DELEGATION

Council resolved:

- (a) To re-affirm for the Council Year 2012/13 the Council's Scheme of Delegation as set out in Section 5 of the Constitution;
- (b) To note the Executive's Scheme of Delegations as set out in Section 4 of the Constitution as presented by the Leader to Council.

13. STANDARDS - CODE OF CONDUCT, COMPLAINT HANDING, ARRANGEMENTS AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE

The Head of Law and Governance/Monitoring Officer submitted a report (previously circulated, now appended) which presented the recommendations of the Standards Committee in relation to the adoption of a new Code of Conduct and standards arrangements in consequence of the Localism Act 2011.

Council resolved:

- (a) To adopt the draft Code of Conduct and complaint handling arrangements to take effect immediately on the statutory repeal of the present Code and arrangements;
- (b) To establish a non-statutory Standards Committee with terms and references as set out in the report (resolution (c) of minute 10 refers);
- (c) That the Head of Law and Governance be authorised to make any consequential amendments to the Constitution;
- (d) To record its thanks to all of the Independent and Parish Council Members who had served on the statutory Standards Committee for their significant contribution to its work over the period 2001-2012.